Each unique child has opportunities to interact in positive relationships and within our enabling environments.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

As well as being the core document for all professionals working in the foundation years, the EYFS framework gives mums and dads confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

(Foundation Years 2016)

What children learn

Areas of Learning and Development
               Prime Areas of Learning
Personal, Social and Emotional Development Making relationships
Self-confidence and self-awareness
Managing feeling and behaviour
Physical Development Moving and handling
Health and self-care
Communication and Language


Specific Areas of Learning

Listening and attention
Literacy Reading
Mathematics Numbers
Shape, space and measure
Understanding the world People and communities
The world
Expressive Arts and Design Exploring and using media and materials.
Being Imaginative

Characteristics of Effective Learning

Playing & Exploring – Engagement
Finding out and exploring
Playing with what they know
Being willing to ‘have a go’
Active Learning – Motivation
Being involved and concentrating
Keep trying
Enjoying achieving what they set out to do
Creating and thinking critically –
Having their own ideas
Making links
Choosing ways to do things